Exhibit Columbus Announces 2018–19 University Design Research Fellowships

The Exhibit Columbus University Design Research Fellowship was created to showcase current research by leading professors of architecture and design teaching at public institutions in America’s Heartland. Universities were invited to submit proposals that highlight innovative design research exploring ways that architecture and design can improve people’s lives and make cities stronger.

“Columbus has a long history of using architecture, art, and design to make transformative investments in education,” said Anne Surak, Exhibit Columbus Director of Exhibitions. “We believe it is important to further this effort by inviting public universities in our region to engage with the design legacy of Columbus through their participation in the 2018 National Symposium and the 2019 exhibition.”

Thirty-two proposals were submitted from ten universities with funding requests totalling over $300,000. Exhibit Columbus is proud to award six fellowships to the following professors representing eight universities: Viola Ago and Hans Tursak (The Ohio State University and MIT); Sean Ahlquist (University of Michigan); Christopher Battaglia (Ball State University); Sean Lally and Matthew Wizinsky (University of Illinois at Chicago and University of Cincinnati); Daniel Luis Martinez and Etien Santiago (Indiana University); and Marshall Prado (University of Tennessee).

About Exhibit Columbus

Exhibit Columbus seeks to celebrate Columbus’ design heritage while making it relevant to new communities. Exhibit Columbus is the signature project of Landmark Columbus, which was created in 2015 to “care for the design heritage of Columbus and inspire communities to use architecture, art, and design to improve people’s lives and make cities better places to live.” Landmark Columbus is a program of Heritage Fund – The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County. Exhibit Columbus operates with legacy support from Ball State University, Columbus Area Visitors Center, Columbus Museum of Art Design, Columbus Regional Health, Cummins Inc., Deer Crossing Fund, Efroymson Family Fund, Haddad Foundation, Heritage Fund – The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County, Indiana University, Irwin-Sweeney-Miller Foundation, Johnson Ventures, Moravec Realty, Schumaker Family, SIHO Insurance Services, and others.

For general inquires, please contact Hannah Brokenshire at hannah@exhibitcolumbus.org. For press inquiries, please contact Kubany Judlowe at kubany@exhibitcolumbus.com.